top of page
Search

The Three Lessons I Learned From Bhagavad Gita

Updated: Dec 7, 2020



Hey Guys!


Welcome to Curious Minds! Today I am going to talk about the three lessons which I learned from The Bhagavad Gita.


I think Bhagavad Gita is one of the most enjoyed books I have read till now. If we remove the religious connotations from it, one will really enjoy this wonderful legend. Many self improvement books are written on the basis of the Bhagavad Gita. I think Bhagavad Gita is not a book but it is a way of life. Everyone who reads Bhagavad Gita will learn different lessons according to their mindsets. Well Bhagavad Gita is all about the war within. The Bhagavad Gita talks about the struggle for self mastery that everybody must wage in order to become successful in life. Anybody can become successful but he or she has to wage a war against himself/herself. This book has taught me many lessons. This lessons are not just some philosophy. I think that these are practical things which one must learn.


The Bhagavad Gita starts at the battlefield named Kurukshetra. Pandavas and Kauravas are ready to fight. In the middle of this, Arjun is seeking some advice from Lord Krishna. Arjun is very sad because at the end of this battle, only his family is going to suffer. In this whole chapter, only Arjun speaks while Lord Krishna listens to him carefully. Lord Krisna is an excellent listener. He listens to understand what Arjun says. I think that this is very relevant in todays time. Most of the people including me don’t listen to understand but to put out our opinion. If we think about this for a second, this lesson is very helpful. Whenever we have conversations, if we listen carefully we will come to know something we didn’t knew or understand. Jordan Peterson also talks about this in his book 12 Rules for Life. He says that listen to someone like they know something we don’t know or understand.


The second thing I learned is to focus on work and not on the results. We all have big goals to achieve but when it comes to work we procrastinate and show laziness. But if instead of focusing on goals if we focus on doing the work which brings us closer to our goals, wouldn’t it be very effective? Let’s say I want to score well in my exams. If I think about it all the time instead of studying then I am not going to score well. But If I study hard for exam that is focus on work and my behaviour instead of goal then I would definitely get good marks. This point is similar to what James Clear talks about in his book Atomic Habits.


The third thing I learned is that the key to have a better focus is to focus on one thing at a time and forget about all the other things. Whenever we try to focus on something, the thoughts start coming and if we engage with them we will be distracted. So the key if to focus on the thing and if thoughts come then don’t take any action in their favour. In our minds, thoughts come and go every time. But if choose to take action only on the thoughts which are of great importance, we will become indistracteable. By being indistractable does not mean to not get distracted as it will be an ideal thing. In reality, nobody can remain indistractable. One can only learn to take action on the thoughts which are of primary importance at that time.


To conclude, I would really recommend you to read The Bhagavad Gita. This book was like a self improvement book. For you it can be different. The lessons you extract from something largely depends on your mindset and perspective. Read this books without any religious connotations and you will really learn a lot of great things which are of paramount importance in one’s life. I hope that I was able to add some value to you life.


I want to thank Feedspot for mentioning Curious-minds in top 100 personal development blogs list


Thanks for Reading!

153 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
PictureQuotes1589371189.jpg
bottom of page